2015 Fall Colloquium - Wilson Lecture Series

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Reception 3:30 p.m. Keller Hall Annex 3-230 Hallway Presentation 4:00 p.m. Keller Hall Annex 3-230

Thursday, September 10

Professor Jarvis Haupt University of Minnesota Host: Prof. Nikos Sidiropoulos Thursday, October 1

"Nano-photonic phenomena in van der Waals heterostructures"



Professor Dimitri Basov University of California, San Diego Host: Prof. Tony Low

Thursday, October 22 "From Big Data to Little Knowledge"



Professor Vladimir Cherkassky University of Minnesota Host: Prof. Paul Ruden

Thursday, November 12



Professor Max Fischetti University of Texas—Dallas Host: Prof. Tony Low

Thursday, December 10



Professor Susan Hagness University of Wisconsin-Madison Host: Prof. Anand Gopinath

Thursday, September 17 "New Materials Platforms for Nanophotonics"



Professor Vlad Shalaev Purdue University Host: Prof. Sang-Hyun Oh

Thursday, September 24

Thursday, October 8 "Artificial dielectrics: theory, fabrication, and applications"



Professor George Barbastathis MIT Host: Prof. Joseph Talghader

Thursday, October 15

Thursday, October29



Professor Hugh Lim University of Minnesota Host: Prof. Chris Kim

Thursday, November 5

Thursday, November 19 "Accelerated High-Resolution MRI **Using Sparsity-Based** Reconstruction and Non-Linear Measurement Models"



Professor Mehmet Akcakaya University of Minnesota Host: Prof. Keshab Parhi

Thursday, December 3



Professor Allen Tannenbaum Stony Brook University Host: Prof. Tryphon Georgiou

Professor Ertugrul Cubukcu University of Pennsylvania Host: Prof. Mo Li

Prof. Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia University of Illinois Host: Prof. Sairaj Dhople

Professor Randall Geiger Iowa State University Host: Prof. Keshab Parhi

Wilson Lectures — Established in 2009, the Eleanore Hale Wilson Fund supports engineering field leaders for travel to Minnesota to share their expertise and discoveries with University of Minnesota graduate students, faculty, and alumni. The fund also supports the receptions held in honor of each speaker.